A Mint Life

Some say that the two hardest parts of a friendship are the hello and the goodbye. Most people understand that ending friendships can be negative, so shouldn’t ‘hello’ moments be the opposite of that?

Not necessarily. I used to dread the ‘hello’ moments back in high school. Of course, I yearned to make friends. In fact, I envied people who could establish friendships so easily. And even though the thought of making more friendships seemed like a pretty good idea, it always felt less than natural to me.

Here I make a paradoxical statement: despite feeling uncomfortable making friends, I did have friends in high school. In fact, I had awesome friends. It has now been another four years since then. I still feel anxious with the ‘hello’ moments, but I’ve realized that many of my buddies consider me to be rather extroverted. Did something change in my personality that…

View original post 697 more words

